Tuesday, February 7th, 2017


Blockade tends to Continue – Court remands Gaidon in judicial custody

There sees no end to the 99 days long blockade of the United Naga Council as its presidential council has resolved to continue to fight against the allegedly grabbing Naga’s land on the pretext of administrative convenience till the creation of the new 7 districts is withdrawn. An emergency Presidential Council of the UNC was convened today in Senapati to consider the outcome of the tripartite meeting of the government of Manipur, government of India and the UNC held on February 3 at New Delhi. In the statement released byRead More

BJP finalises its candidates

BJP has today finalised its candidates announcing two candidates’ names to field the sixty assembly seats for the state election contest to be held in March. The two candidates who were given BJP tickets were Rajen Singh of Lamshang assembly constituency and K. Krishna Kumar Singh of Bishenpur constituency. BJP announced names of 31 candidates list on January 23 and made its second phase announcement listing names of 27 candidates on February 4. BJP says they will form the government while the same is said by the Congress. Left andRead More

MNDF hopes high – Two Congress and one BJP candidates join MNDF

Manipur National Development front has high to be a part of the next government with expectations winning a countable seat in the forthcoming state assembly election. Today three more contesters have joined the new regional party. Two of them were from Congress and the other was from the BJP. Those who left the Congress and joined the MNF today were Sagolsem Achouba from Wangoi constituency and Mutum Dinesh Singh from Langthabal constituency. Hingba Thomas was the one from BJP who is contesting in Tadubi constituency. Mutum Dinesh said he hasRead More

Left front announces its first candidates list

The Left and Democratic Front (LDF) formed by various national and regional parties, has today announced its first list of 29 candidates for the ensuing state assembly election. The announcement was made today at Manipur Press Club by LDF convenor M. Nara Singh who was also the leader of the CPI, Manipur. In the list MNDF has the highest number of candidates of 12 followed by CPI with eight; NCP has six while CPI (M) has two. The list also included a common candidate for the LDF contesting at MoirangRead More


Champ Khagempalli registered 5 wicket win over Youth Welfare Club, Langthabal to booked theirs semi final berth in the 5th Twenty -20 Manipur Veteran Cricket Tournament 2016-17 played at Oriental College and Model Higher Secondary School ground. Winning the toss, Youth Welfare Club chose to bat first with Priyokumar Singh leading the charge with an unbeaten 20 run from 17 balls. Shachi Singh got 21 runs while Gojen Singh hit 16 runs to post 116 runs for 7 wickets from 20 over. Among the Champ bowlers, Jodiba Singh and IbobiRead More

error: Content is protected !!