Yumnam Khemchand is the new speaker; Biren won floor test

Yumnam Khemchand Singh, BJP MLA from Singjamei Assembly Constituency was elected as the new Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly by voice vote in the floor of the House assembled this morning.
MLA Konthoujam Govindas Singh of INC was defeated in the contest for the post of the speaker.
Chief Minister Shri Nongthombam Biren Singh led BJP government won the floor test in the 60-member House of the 11 th Manipur Legislative Assembly today. The government got support of 32 MLAs that include 20 BJP, 4 NPP, 4 NPF, one each of LJP, one each of AITC, independent and Congres. The strength of the government was shown by voice vote on the floor of the Assembly.

Related News

  • Tenth session of 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly commence with Governor’s address
  • Finance Minister presents supplementary demands for grants 2019-20 and budget estimates, 2020-21
  • Government committed to protect native people: Biren
  • Manipur Assembly resolves to ratify Constitution Amendment Bill
  • Congress demands special discussion on ILP in Assembly
  • Congress questions on government’s decision of CA support rally
  • Full implementation of Inner Line Permit System in the state soon: CM
  • All set for Inner Manipur poll
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.