Thursday, March 23rd, 2017


Strike paralyses RIMS

Regional Institute of Medical Sciences, the biggest regional health care and medical institute was totally paralysed as the medical fraternity of RIMS and its staff today began its total seize work strike demanding to appoint director which has been remaining vacant for 23 days. The closure of the institute including its emergency and OPD services has disappointed the people who came at the hospital and who are under treatment in the hospital. Doctors, nurses, medical students and staff today staged a sit in at RIMS campus while the seize workRead More

Three BJP MLAs swear in as ministers

Three BJP MLAs V. Hangkhalian(Churchandpur), Nemcha Kipgen (Kangpokpi) and Th. Radheshyam (Heirok) were sworn in as ministers at Raj Bhavan, today. Governor Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy at the Raj Bhavan’s banquet hall in the presence of Chief minister Nongthombam Biren Singh and his deputy Yumnam Joykumar among the council ministers and MLAs. On March 15 when Biren Singh took the oath as the chief minister of the BJP government, Th. Biswajit Singh was the only BJP minister who took oath as a minister. Yumnam JoykumarRead More

Assembly passes two bills

Manipur Appropriation (No.1) Bill, 2017 and the Manipur Appropriation (No.2) Bill, 2017 were passed on the concluding day of the first session of the 11th Legislative Assembly of Manipur. During the session, Demands for Supplementary Grants, 2017 for forty-five different departments were passed by the House. Obituary references in honour of the late seven former members of the house including Rajya Sabha were observed. Budget Estimates, 2017 was also presented. Speaker Yumnam Khemchand Singh thanked all government officials and media personnel present today for participating in the Assembly session andRead More

State Open Football Tournament

Manipur Terriers FC Leimakhong drubbed NCC Khonghampat by 6-2 goals in the opening match of the 7th Shaheed Manoranjan Singh Memorial State Open Football Tournament 2017 played at Khuman Lampak Main Stadium. RD.Ngatagmi scored four goals while H.Arun Kumar Singh and K.Lungoiba Maram chip in with a goal each. NCC Khonghampat two goals were scored by W.Macheal.

Governor’s Cup Invitation Polo Tournament

Manipur Police Sports Club(B) moves into the semi final beating Khurai Polo Club by 2-1 goals in the 27th Governor’s Cup Invitation Polo Tournament 2017 played at Mapal Kangjeibung. The last year runners up team Khurai Polo Club looked positive as they came up with the opening goal from T.Roshan in the first chukker for the lead. Seeking the equaliser, Manipur Police team rush things up but were unlucky to miss the oppurrunity in the second and third chukker. However in the fourth chukker, things open up for Manipur PoliceRead More

Luwangpokpa Trophy 2017

Tiddim Road Athletic Union beat Blue Hawk by 8 wicket in the 1st MCA T-20 Luwangpokpa Trophy 2017 played at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium. However despite the defeat, both Tiddim Road Athletic Union and Blue Hawk have qualified to the quarter final stages after calculating the net run rate of the respective teams. In a low scoring match, Blue Hawk winning the toss, decided to bat first where they scored a paltry 41 runs for 10 wicket from 12.3 over. A fine bowlin performance from Bobin Singh, who captured 8 wicketRead More