The State Cabinet today decided to introduce the Dhanamanjuri University Bill, 2017 during the ongoing Assembly session.

The decision was taken in the Cabinet meeting held with Chief Minister Shri N. Biren Singh in the chair at Chief Minister’s Secretariat.

The proposal of the Bill is to set up a Cluster University comprising five institutions namely, Dhanamanjuri College of Science, Dhanamanjuri College of Arts, Dhanamanjuri College of Commerce, LMS Law College and GP Women’s College, which occupy common, adjoining or neighbouring physical spaces.

It may be mentioned that the proposal was put up before the Project Approval Board (PAB) of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) on May 13, 2013 and it was approved in 2014.

The existing assets and liabilities, all properties both movable and immovable including land, buildings thereupon, infrastructure etc. along with the rights of all these institutes shall be transferred to Dhanamanjuri University.

The earlier Dhanamanjuri University Bill, 2016 was approved by the Cabinet in its sitting held on August 26, 2016.

The draft Bill was introduced on September 2, 2016 and passed on September 5, 2016 by the Manipur Legislative Assembly.

However, the Governor withheld her assent on April 4, 2017 as the Bill needed some additions and corrections.

As such, the Bill will be introduced afresh after making these necessary additions and corrections.

Related News

  • AR conducts security meet
  • People’s committe demands justice to Babysana’s death
  • Government trying to provide horticulture based alternative livelihood to poppy growers: Biren
  • IMC gets an administrator
  • Khurai people calls off Indefinite general strike
  • State distributes prizes to meritorious students
  • RD & PR minister instructs officials to strengthen MGNREGS implementation
  • Biren calls to collectively fight to root out drug menace
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    error: Content is protected !!