Nagaland Assembly accepts resignation of 10 NPF legislatures

Pothashang News Service

Imphal, January 30: Ngaland Legislative Assembly today accepted resignation of 10 NPF legislatures as tendered by MLAs.

The legislatures are TokhehoYepthomi, Noke Wangnao, Neikiestie Nicky Kise, Pangnyu Phom, Zhaleo Rio, Deo Nukhu,  C.M. Chang, Pohwang Konyak, Namri Nachang and Neiba Kronu.

This notice came after 11 representatives of 11 political parties including the ruling NPF, its ally BJP and opposition Congress expressed solidarity with  civil society groups and Naga tribal Hohos’ call for a solution to the Naga issue before the elections, and announced a unanimous decision not to contest the Assembly polls scheduled for February 27.

Union minister of state for Home Kiren Rijiju yesterday said both the Centre and the BJP will ensure that elections are held on time.

Political parties, regional and national, had agreed not file nominations for the elections to the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly. These political parties responded to the call of the Core Committee of Nagaland Tribal Hohos and Civil Organization (CCNTHCS) that solution to the Naga political issue should be arrived at before the state legislative assembly election.

It had arrived that the political parties in Nagaland will not issue party tickets to their respective candidates for the ensuing Assembly elections in Nagaland.

Related News

  • Government steps up to Improve Primary Healthcare System: Governor
  • Manipur board exam result to declare on Saturday
  • Children motivate traffic awareness
  • ‘No FIR against NSCN-IM’
  • Ultimatum served to chief minister over Mapithel Dam
  • Student body cautions strike over recruitment
  • NEIDP refutes Biren’s statement
  • AR celebrates mother’s day
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    error: Content is protected !!