Governor’s Cup Polo Tournaments begins

Imphal, March 21, 2018(DIPR): The XXVIII Governor’s Cup Invitation Polo Tournament 2018 and the XVII Governor’s Cup Women’s Polo Tournament 2018 began today at Pologround (Mapal Kangjeibung), Imphal. The event is being organised by the Manipur Horse Riding & Polo Association (MHRPA).

Shri Letpao Haokip, Minister for YAS & Water Resources, was the chief guest of the inaugural function. After unfurling the tournament flag, Shri Letpao Haokip took the march past salute for 13 polo teams, which comprised of both men and women teams.

Addressing the gathering, Shri Letpao Haokip expressed his appreciation on the gender-inclusiveness nature of the tournament, where events for men and women are featured in the tournament. He added that the tournament sends out a good and positive message to the outside world and appreciated the efforts of MHRPA for organising such a prestigious event continuously for many years. He further assured all possible help from his side to the event in the coming years.

Shri H Deleep Singh, Commissioner of Social Welfare & Higher Education and Honorary President of MHRPA in his presidential speech, said that the talents of the State polo players are at par with the international standards. However, more attention is needed to improve the physical strength of both the players and the ponies. He also lauded the relentless effort of the YAS Minister in endeavours including the promotion of the game of polo.

Dr Ksh Chourjit Singh attended the opening function as the guest of honour.

Related News

  • Neroca FC champion 61st Sir Churachand Singh KCSI-CBE Memorial Invitation Football Tournament 2019
  • Manipur beats England in Polo
  • Quess coach confident to win NEROCA
  • Manipur CM urges for unity
  • State judokas Tababi Devi and hockey umpire Napeolan in Summer Youth Olympic Games 2018
  • 1st North East Olympic Games in Manipur gets boosted by Karate Contribution of Rs 2 Lakhs
  • U-17 FC Imphal City team leaves Imphal
  • Spaniard coach sees NE Boys in future Indian team
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    error: Content is protected !!