Traffic regulation and parking committee meeting held

Imphal, April 25, 2018 (DIPR): Chief Minister Shri N. Biren Singh today chaired the first meeting of the Traffic Regulation and Parking Committee (Imphal East and West District) after a gap of two years. The meeting was held at the Cabinet Hall of the Chief Minister’s Secretariat today.

 The meeting elaborately discussed the inconveniences and suffering caused by traffic congestion in and around the Khwai Bazaar and Imphal city. Officials of various Departments gave their opinions, suggestions and measures to reduce the traffic congestion in the Imphal area. The meeting also discussed about the allotment of parking lots in the Imphal area.

During the meeting, Chief Minister asked the concerned officials for strict enforcement of the existing By Laws, norms and regulations of the government. He suggested for the introduction of e-rickshaw or battery based vehicles instead of diesel autos for the transportation of public in and around the Khwai Bazaar. Such vehicle would not only reduce the traffic congestion but also noise pollution caused by the diesel autos and other public transport system plying in the Bazaar area, he added. He instructed Committee members to explore the introduction of dedicated lanes for emergency vehicles on the roads of Imphal city.

Commissioner of Transport Shri M. Lakshmikumar Singh gave a detailed power point presentation about the issues and problems of traffic regulation and parking spaces in Imphal area.

On the occasion, Chief Minister released a short film on traffic awareness and road safety.

Mentioned may be made that the Traffic Regulation and Parking Committee(TRPC) is a policy making as well as a recommending body comprising of Officers drawn from various line departments for planning, implementation, enforcement of Traffic Regulation and Parking System.

Mayor of Imphal Municipal Corporation Shri L. Lokeshwar, ADGP Prisons Shri P. Doungel, DC Imphal West Shri Ningthoujam Geoffrey, DC Imphal East Smt. Th. Chitra Devi, SP Traffic Smt. Khoisnam Sarma Devi, Director of Transport Shri Arthur Worchuiyo, Director MAHUD Shri Gitkumar Nepram, Chief Engineer PWD Shri Kh. Temba and other officials attended the meeting.

Related News

  • Manipur Cultural Integration Conference will get a hall
  • Rocket shell found at Moreh
  • Minister Biswajit reaches Paris for food exhibition
  • Combing operation continuous in Imphal city
  • N. Hazari and Dr N. Tombi Polo tournament underway
  • Journalist and cop sworn in as state commissioner
  • Sangai Run 2018 on November 21
  • Combing operation in Imphal city
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    error: Content is protected !!