5 former MLAs from Congress join NEIDP,  announces candidates

Pothashang News Service: Imphal, March 21, 2019: Five  former MLAs left  Congress today and joined North East India Development Party (NEIDP); NEIDP announced its candidates for the Lok Sabha election.

The Congressmen who joined the regional party were R.K. Anand, E. Chand, Ng. Bijoy,  I. Ibohanbi and K. Sarat.

They submitted their resignation letter to Congress party at 11 am and joined the NEIDP at 2 pm.

Immediately Bijoy was appointed as the president of the NEIDP Manipur unit in front of the media persons at its office.

The MLAs said they left Congress and joined the regional party as they can work freely to solve state issues from the platform of the regional party. They said they left Congress for the National party has less interest in regional issues and the powers are concentrated in Delhi.

They said they are regional minded even when they were with the national party and they chose the regional party with the vision to solve various issues of Manipur from the regional political platform.

Later the NEIDP announced its candidates in a function held at Tera, Imphal.

Anand was declared as the NEIDP candidate to contest from the Inner Parliamentary Constituency and Ashang Kasar as candidate for Outer Parliamentary Constituency in the Lok Sabha election.

They appealed the people of Manipur to support the NEIDP saying that regional problems can be solved by the people of the region.

“My vision is to contribute in promoting and strenthening the Manipuri society”, Anand told Pothashang.”

Manipur has become a land with innumerable issues. I would work to solve the problems. I would work to restore the bond of love and unity among the people of the hills and valley as it were in the early days”, Ashang told Pothashang.

Related News

  • Full implementation of Inner Line Permit System in the state soon: CM
  • All set for Inner Manipur poll
  • Kaiku happy with people’s support
  • Congress must aware the PM’s foreign tour benefit
  • Congress candidates promise for welfare and development
  • NPP hopes to win in about 12 Lok Sabha seats
  • 5 former MLAs from Congress join NEIDP,  announces candidates
  • All political party meeting discusses Manipur issues
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.