Awards distributed

Pothashang News Service: Imphal, September 11, 2019: Governor’s Award 2019 was conferred to Thongkhatabam Ankita Sharma and Rajkumari Sanatombi Devi Award of 2019 was awarded to ten persons for excellence in various fields.

Lok Sabha MP, R.K. Ranjan distributed the awards on Tuesday at Rajkumari Sanatombi Devi Bidyalaya, Pangei, here.

Thongkhatabam Ankita Sharma was a class XI student of the institute. She was awarded for her consistent excellence in academic and co-curricular activities in the Vidyalaya for three consecutive years. The award is given in the form of certificate with a cash prize of Rs. 15,000 to the students of senior secondary level of the Vidyala.

This award was instituted in the year 1988 in order to promote and encourage the students for the institute for pursuit of excellence in academic and co-curricular activities. The cash award is given from the corpus fund created with contributions from several former Governors of Manipur namely padmashree O.N. Shrivastava, Shivinder Singh Sidhu, Gurbachan Jagat and the institute itself.

Rajkumari Sanatombi Devi Award, 2019 was conferred to Jaichand Oinam, lecturer of Johnstone Higher Secondary School, Imphal West for his devoted service as a teacher; Ph. Tamubi Devi of Khurkhul Makha Leikai for her devoted service as a traffic police; Takhellambam Yaimabi Devi, assistant nursing superintendent, JNIMS for her devoted service as a nurse; Salam Luwanglakpa Meitei of Khurai Nandeibam Leikai, Imphal East for his commendable activities in various sports including archery, athletic, cricket, swimming at national and international level inspite of his challenges; Lukanand Kshetrimayum of Maria Montessori senior secondary school and Ningthoujam Yoihenba Meitei of National Sports Academy, Imphal being outstanding student in co-curricular activities; Chanambam Rishikanta Singh of Ngairangbam Makha Leikai, Imphal West for his various achievements in national and international level in the field of sports as weightlifter; Maisnam Meiraba Luwang of Sega Road Khwairakpam Leikai, Imphal West for his achievement in the badminton; Huidrom Ambeshori Devi of Mayang Imphal Thana Awang Leikai, Imphal for her achievement in boxing and Philem Rohan, Moirang Philem Leikai, Bishnupur district for his social awareness activities and for being an ambassador of peace, security, humanity and clean environment.

Rajkumari Sanatombi Devi Award was instituted in the year 1983 to recognize and encourage passion and excellence on various fields. The award is given annually in the form of a certificate with cash award of Rs. 10,000 by the founder or his nominees in appreciation of outstanding performance in the field of education, arts, sports, social workers, differently-abled person, traffic control police, journalism and social awareness.

As a part of the programme cultural programmes including Thang-Ta demonstration were presented by the school students.

Related News

  • 2 Manipur cops to receive Police Medal for Gallantry
  • Manipur GDP doubled: Biren
  • Assam Rifles Director General visits Manipur
  • Manipur guv pitches for gender budget allocation
  • Manipur Photography Club celebrates foundation day
  • President to confer national award to Imphal East DC Rangitabali
  • Imphal company produces paper cups
  • Manipur targets to eliminate Hepatitis by 2030: Health minister
  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    error: Content is protected !!