Laithangbam Ranjan Singh and Nongthombam Chaoba Devi clinch 11th Mega Marathon 2017 title


Pothashang News Service

Imphal September 24: : Laithangbam Ranjan Singh and Nongthombam Chaoba Devi of Luwangshangbam have clinched the men’s and women’s title of the 11th Mega Marathon – Run for Your Nation, organised today by the United People’s Front (UPF), Manipur under the auspices of Athletic Association of Manipur.

Laithangbam Ranjan Singh was from Sunu Siphai in Bishnupur district. She is serving as a junior police officer in Pune. Nongthombam Chaoba Devi was from Luwangshangbam.

The race was flagged off by RK Ranendrajit, chairman Sport’s movement committee from Khuman Lampak Main Stadium and ended here after covering about 22 kilometers.

The mega marathon has been conducted since 2007 with the objective to maintain peace and unity and together bring development in the state. For this, co-operation from different section of the communities is required, said Soraisam Ratankumar, president UPF.

Also Read:  Demarcation for road expansion from Sanjenthong to Minuthong bridge conducted

Laithangbam Ranjan Singh took 01:09:46 sec to finish on top while Somong Raman of Phalee Village, Ukhrul (01:14:06 sec) and Khundongbam Romajit Singh of Khundrakpam Awang Leikai (01:14:24 sec) secured the second and third spot respectively.

A cash prize of Rs 40,000 donated by Manipur State Social Welfare Board chairperson RK Nayansana Devi in memory of his son (L) Jaideep Gurumayum was awarded to the winner Laithangbam Ranjan Singh.

Somong Raman received a cash prize of Rs 30,000 and  Khundongbam Romajit Singh was awarded a cash prize of Rs 20,000 donated by donated by Huidrom Ibomcha Singh in memory of his father (L) Huidrom Angachou and Oinam Romen Singh in memory of his father (L) O Charly Singh, respectively.

Also Read:  Biren calls for neat and clean Manipur

The runners securing 4th to 15th place were given cash prize of Rs 3000 each which was donated by Oinam Priyo Singh in memory of his father (L) Oinam Mani Singh of Singjamei Oinam Leikai as the consolation reward.

In the women’s section, S Nongthombam Chaoba Devi of Luwangshangbam finishes at 01:36:24, Konsam Bibicha Devi of Manipur Police Sports Club at 01:43:11 and Azima of Lillong at 01:44:41 to bag the first, second and third place respectively.

Also Read:  Applications invited for Media Fellowship on Climate Change

A cash prize of Rs 40,000; Rs 30,000; Rs 20,000 respectively were awarded to the first, second and third position holder respectively. Nongmaithem Noren Singh, additional chief engineer PWD, the Blossom School and M. Lokendro Singh donated the cash prizes for first, second and third place.

The women runners who secured 4th to 15th places were awarded a cash prize of Rs 3000 each, donated by Ksh. Chandrakumar of Van Heusen, Paona Bazar as the consolation reward.

  Altogether around 4000 runners including 1500 women took part in the event.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!