Establishment of Dhanamanjuri University a big achievement: Nodel Officer RUSA


Imphal, 30th April, 2018 (DIPR): Joint Director, Department of Education (U), Shri L. Iboyaima Singh said that the department had taken a bold step to address the challenges faced in higher education by appointing 223 Assistant Professors and 12 College Principals. He said this while interacting with media personnel at the Series of Press Conference of Head of Departments for highlighting the developmental activities and achievements of the govt. at DIPR complex, Moirangkhom today.

He further stated that the department had introduced vocational courses in 29 Government Colleges and 11 Government Aided Colleges under Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) Scheme and the courses are designed for giving employment opportunity to the youths in addition to their normal courses. The curriculum of the courses is designed and framed by the Board of Studies appointed by the Department in compliance with the National Skill Qualification framework under the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, Government of India. The Department had also identified 11 trades in collaboration with 13 Industrial Partners with the intake capacity of 30 students in each college, he added.

Also Read:  Myanmar PDF members arrested in Manipur, state issues notice against arrest of illegal immigrants

Briefing about the Infrastructural grant under RUSA Scheme, he said that repairing has been completed in 20 Colleges with the cost of Rs. 25 lakh each and an approximate amount of Rs 49 lakh each had been released to the Education(S) Engineering Wing for New Construction in 18 colleges. North Eastern Council (NEC) had sanctioned Rs. 2.27 Crore each for the construction of Model Library Building at Petigrew College, Ukhrul and Modern College, Imphal and construction of Science Laboratory Block of Liberal College, Luwangsangbam was retained by NEC in 2017-18.

The Department is also in the process of making uniform academic calendar for Government Colleges, Government Aided Colleges and Private Colleges and while formulating the calendar all the stakeholders would also be consulted, he added. An Internal Finance Division headed by Finance Officer had also been established in the Department on June last year and account, budget, audit and planning section would be under this Division. He also maintained that the department has also process for redrafting of new Education Codes for Government Colleges, Government Aided Colleges & Private Colleges and expected to be completed by May, 2018.

Also Read:  AR apprehends man with pistol, drug peddler

Nodal Officer, RUSA, Shri T. Ojit Singh said that establishment of Dhanamanjuri University by an act of the State Legislature under RUSA Scheme is a big achievement. The University whish consisted of DM College of Arts, DM College of Science, DM College of Commerce, GP Women’s College & L.M.S Law College will be functioning from the academic session 2018-19 and will accommodate large number of students who did not get admission in Manipur University. The University will also be instrumental in checking large scale student migration of students.

He further stated that the Ministry of Human Resource and Development had also approved the establishment of Government Engineering college at Heirok, Thoubal District under RUSA Scheme. The land for the Professional college had been identified and the college would meet the demand of students on technical aspects. It may also be mentioned that the Ministry had released Rs. 24.30 crore and Rs. 11.35 crore as 1st instalment for Dhanamanjuri University and Government Engineering College at Heirok respectively.

Also Read:  Woman nabbed with 2.5 kg Opium in Manipur

The Manipur State Higher Education Council which was reconstituted under “the Manipur State Higher Education Council Act, 2016” on 5th December, 2017 has the role of strategy & planning, monitoring & evaluation, quality assurance & academic functions, advisory and funding of RUSA Scheme. There are 96 Higher Educational institutions affiliated to the Manipur University, Canchipur out of which 73 are directly or indirectly under the Department of Higher & Technical Education.

Administrative Officer, Higher Education, Roji Rajkumari and OSD, Education (U), Shri Th. Roben Singh also attended the press conference with Joint Director, IPR, Smt. W. Phajatomi Devi as moderator.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!