‘Voter Guide’ to be distributed to each family recorded In the E-roll: CEO


Pothashang News Service: Imphal, March 28, 2019: The Election Commission of India has appointed 4 senior officers of the Manipur government as Accessibility Observers to assess the facilities at the polling stations and to ensure proper facilities for persons with disabilities.

The officers are JC Ramthanga, IAS, M. Lakshmikumar, IAS, Th Gopen Meetei, IAS and Gyan Prakash, IAS. The CEO office for the first time will distribute a detailed ‘Voter Guide’ to each family recorded in the Electoral Roll in addition to proper distribution of voter slips to each elector through the booth level officers.

Addressing media persons at the Conference Hall of CEO, Lamphelpat, chief rlectoral officer, Manipur, PK Singh  said a grand total of 19,59,429 voters will exercise their franchise in the upcoming 17th Lok Sabha Election – 2019, across the dtate. The total number of electors after completion of continuous updating is 19,39,244 with 9,43,426 male, 995773 female and 45 as third gender voters. While the total number of service voters after final publication of service voter list is 20,185 with 19,506 male and 679 female.

Also Read:  Locals demand to book culprit involved in hit and run case

He informed that a total number of polling stations are 2,862 at 2,275 locations. Out of this 283 are recorded as Critical (227 in Outer and 56 in Inner) and 225 are Vulnerable (171 in Outer and 54 in Inner). The total number of P-2 Polling stations is 200 and P-3 is 26 where Polling Party will depart for the polling station 2 and 3 days before the poll day.

Mentioning the assured minimum facilities to the Polling stations, the CEO stated that CEO office has released funds to MSPDCL for electrification of 1,217 polling stations which have no electricity connections. The deputy commissioners concerned will provide ramps in 665 polling stations where ramps are not there, for which department of education will take up construction of ramps in school buildings. Necessary funds have been released to DCs for providing drinking water at polling stations.

He informed that, this time, CEO office has provided proper 8×4 feet flex printed Signage mounted on an iron frame, containing all details as specified by the ECI for installation at each polling station. Funds have been released to DCs to hire furniture for 346 polling stations which have no proper furniture and construction of temporary toilets in 236 polling stations where toilets are not available, added CEO.

Also Read:  Water is life: Biren

A new feature added in the polling stations this time is an all new Standardized Voting Compartment, built as per exact specifications of the ECI to maintain secrecy.

In addition, 5 big posters will also be put inside and outside the polling station giving proper instructions to voters as well as specifying the documents needed for voter identification.

As per directions of the commission, the state election machinery has to provide special facilitation of all the PwDs. A total of 7,699 PwDs have been marked on the E-roll and 5 light vehicles per AC will be provided for transportation of those PwDs. 90 Coys of Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) which includes 15 Coys of IRB from within the state shall be deployed in the first phase election in Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency.

Also Read:  5 kg Brown Sugar recovered from a car in Manipur, 3 arrested

The central forces include CRPF, BSF, SAP from Assam and Mizoram and RPF.

Arrangement are being made for deployment of 3 Helicopters for post-poll airlifting of 124 polling parties, EVM and VVPAT which includes Tamenglong (49), Churachandpur (39), Chandel (20) and Ukhrul (16).

He stated that one assembly segment each in Imphal East and Churachandpur district shall be manned by only women poll personnel. This could be perhaps for the first time in any part of the country. There shall be 1 model polling station in each assembly segment as well.

Online live webcasting as well as static recording is proposed to be done in about 1250 polling stations.

The CEO urged all the print and electronic media to abide by the guidelines issued by PCI to follow for observance during the election and Guidelines for Election Broadcasts issued by NBSA.

The media briefing was also attended by additional CEO, T. Ranjit Singh, Joint CEO Ramananda Nongmeikapam and other officials of CEO office.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!