SoO groups to cast vote by postal ballots


Pothashang News Service: Imphal, April 1, 2019: The Election Commission of India has on March 28 notified the Suspension of Operation (SoO) groups kept in the designated camps whose names have been enrolled in the electoral rolls of the concerned Assembly Constituencies in Manipur and who are at present residing at various designated camps, as class of voters entitled to vote by postal ballots under Section 60(c) of the R.P. Act, 1951, a press release by the CEO Manipur said today.

Also Read:  Disturbed Area status withdrawn from 4 Manipur areas

In order to implement the postal ballot facility to the electors residing in Designated SoO Camps in Manipur, it has been decided by the Election Commission that the AROs/Nodal Officers appointed for the various camps will be responsible for providing Forms (Forms 12C-13A, PB, 138, 13C and 13D) and the collection of sealed envelopes containing Postal Ballots to be dropped in drop box by the notified electors and the AROs shall also ensure that the marked postal ballots reach the Returning Officers well before the commencement of counting of votes, it added.

Also Read:  Manipur recieves egovernance award

The direction of the Election Commission is brought to the notice of all concerned contesting candidates and political parties for their kind information.

The CEO appeals to all the concerned contesting candidates, their election agents, representatives of various political parties and other concerned dtakeholders to extend their full co-operation to the election machineries deployed at such designated SoO Camps.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!