Rs 5 lakh reward to Panchayat for rain water harvesting


Pothashang News Service: Imphal, June 27, 2019: Manipur chief minister N.Biren Singh on Thursday announced that the top performing Panchayat on the harvesting of rain water would be rewarded a cash prize of Rs 5 lakhs.

The concerned officials, Pradhans and Zilla Parishad members will be honoured at a state level function, the chief minister said.

The announcement was made at the meeting with the elected members of the Panchayati Raj Institutions held at the chief minister’s secretariat.

Also Read:  Myanmar PDF members arrested in Manipur, state issues notice against arrest of illegal immigrants

Biren said, “We all should work collectively at grassroots to conserve and preserve rain water and ground water in the state. ”

Saying that rain water harvesting mission is the brainchild of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Biren urged to  together find ways to harvest the rain water for farming purposes during lean season.

He said the present government has initiated rain water harvesting schemes in hill areas such as Tamei, Chandel, Senapati, Ukhrul, Churachandpur etc. Such schemes have been constructed with an approximate cost of Rs. 2 crores each by minor Irrigation department, he added.

Also Read:  Disturbed Area status withdrawn from 4 Manipur areas

The chief minister mentioned that the Building By-Laws has been amended so that the newly constructed buildings should install a rain water harvesting system. He appealed the elected representatives of the Panchayati Raj Institutions to keep an eye on the illegal sale and purchase of land property in their respective areas.

A state level committee would be formed to check the illegal sale and purchase of land in the state, said the chief minisyer. He also urged the elected leaders to restrict the construction of buildings on the paddy lands in the state.

Also Read:  Biren interacts with Panjab University students

Chief secretary Dr. J. Suresh Babu, additional chief secretary Secretary Letkhogin Haokip, Adhyaksha of Bishnupur Zilla Parishad Dr Romabai Leirenjam, deputy commissioners of valley districts, Adhyakshas and Zilla Parishad members of various Panchayats attended the function.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!