Power minister assures uninterrupted power supply during exams


Imphal, February 20, 2020 (DIPR): The Manipur Legislative Assembly today passed six demands for grants amounting to Rs.22,707,366,000 including Demand No.13 – Labour and Employment amounting to Rs.81,71,91,000; Demand No.14 – Department of Tribal Affairs & Hills Development amounting to Rs.911,72,74,000; Demand No.19 – Environment and Forest amounting to Rs.769,45,04,000; Demand No.23 – Power Rs.361,01,38,000; Demand No.41 – Arts and Culture amounting to Rs.34,40,63,000 and Demand No.50 – Information Technology amounting to Rs.12,41,96,000.

During the demand discussion on Demand No 13 Labour and Employment during the fifth day of the ongoing 10th session of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly, Leader of the House Shri N.Biren Singh said that the challan for Labour CESS at 1 percent which was deposited to the Finance Department earlier will now be deposited directly to the Labour department account.

During the discussion, Shri Thokchom Radheshyam, who is in charge of the Labour and Employment department said that during 2011 till 2019 altogether 41,486 registered labourers have been provided medical, maternity, education and other benefits altogether amounting to Rs. 35,78,78,64,355.
The Labour Minister also said that re-verification of registered labourers is under process. He also stated that the department has already procured 4000 water Storage tanks, 500 bicycle and 4000 sewing machines to be distributed to the genuine beneficiaries once re-verification of the beneficiaries is complete.

He said that the ITI Takyel has been included among 300 ITIs selected from across the country by the Centre under STRIVE. The Centre has also approved a National Skill Training Institute for ITI trainers of all North Eastern States at Takyel which is in the pipeline.

Also Read:  'Government responsible for fuel price hike'

Meanwhile, Shri Thongam Biswajit Singh during discussion on Demand No 23 Power, assured 99 percent uninterrupted power supply during the ongoing exams.

Regarding the inability of the State to have a separate Electricity Regulatory Commission, he said that there was an MoA signed between Manipur and Mizoram in 2004 which will expire in 2024.

He explained that the State government has already informed the Centre regarding the desire to have a separate regulatory commission, however, the Centre has expressed that an agreement has been signed and that it would be better to wait for its expiry.

He also said that the present power tariff in the State is the cheapest in the country. Under SAUBHAGYA, 1.2 lakh households have been electrified in the State.

Regarding Yairipok Sub-station, he said not just the Yairipok Sub-station, but several other sub-stations like Wangoi, Porompat Sub-stations have been completed and can be inaugurated together soon.
He further said that earlier the ATC loss of the state was 44 percent which has been reduced to around 20 percent. He continued that the State is also targeting to bring down the ATC loss below the national level of around 15 percent by next two years.

Also Read:  Heroin worth Rs 6 crore recovered

He continued that replacing naked wire with AB Cable and increasing number of transformers will help in reducing power loss.

Shri Biswajit said that the Thoubal 400/132 KV Station was completed about a year back; however, due to the aligning of rail lines, 18 towers had to be shifted because the power grid was constructed earlier.
However, if there are no further disturbances, the station can be inaugurated in another two months.
Shri L.Jayantakumar, who is in charge of Arts and Culture, said that the Manipur State Film and Television Institute is preparing to commence classes from May/June this year. He continued that 29 posts have already been created for the institute.

He also said that foundation has already been laid for a Film Complex at Ukhrul district.
He said that the draft of the Manipur State Cine Policy 2020 has been completed and will soon be placed before the Cabinet for approval.

Shri Jayanta also said that seven posts each have been created for the old nine districts of the State including five hill districts for opening of Arts and Culture offices.

He continued that statues of several leaders and personalities including Janneta Hijam Irabot at Lilashing Khongnangkhong and Maichou Thadoi statue at Kharam Pallel have been installed. Maharaj Chandrakirti Park at Behiang has also been constructed.

Also Read:  60 more schools approved for School Fagathansi Mission

Regarding the Thong-Nambonbi, the Minister said that since the bridge is a protected monument enlisted by the Archaeological Survey of India, the ASI Aizwal Circle has already been informed and asked to look into it at the earliest.

During demand discussion on Demand no 14-Tribal Affairs and Hills Development, Shri N. Kayisii who is in charge of the department said that there is no room for irregularities while awarding schemes to beneficiaries under the department as their subsidies are transferred directly to the beneficiaries through DBT after proper screening and scrutiny.

He said that tribal population in the State is 40.86 percent with 4.86 percent in valley districts. He continued benefits are provided under Housing, Animal Husbandry, small industries etc.
He also said that pension cell has been established for the Autonomous District Council employees.
Meanwhile, a nine-member House Committee with Deputy Chief Minister Shri Y.Joykumar as chairperson was also formed to look into the Rs.29.21 crore irregularities in Tribal Affairs and Hills Development.

During Discussion and Voting on Demands for Grants, Opposition MLAs Shri K.Ranjit Singh, Shri Th.Lokeshwar Singh, Shri Md.Abdul Nasir, Shri Kh.Joykisan Siongh, Shri Surjakumar Okram, Shri Alfred Kanngam Arthur, Km.Ak.Mirabai, Shri K.Meghachandra and Shri RK Imo Singh raised Motion for Disapproval Policy Cuts.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!