Biren government at stake


Imphal: Biren Singh government is at stake with the withdrawal of support from four ministers of National People’s Party, lone MLA of All India Trinamool Congress and independent MLA of Jiribam with three BJP MLAs leaving the party.

The four NPP ministers who have resigned from the council of ministry are deputy chief minister Y Joykumar, YAS minister Letpao Haokip, health and family welfare minister L. Jayanta Kumar and fisheries minister N. Kayisii.

The three BJP MLAs who left the party to support Congress are Samuel Jendai , TT Haokip and Soibam Subashchandra.

Also Read:  Prime Minister Modi releases 8th instalment of financial benefit under PM-KISAN

The three BJP MLAs have tendered their resignation from the primary membership of the party to state BJP president S. Tikendra and as MLAs to Assembly Speaker Y. Khemchand.

The three MLAs said they will now support the Congress and Congress recieved them on Wednesday evening.

The AITC MLA T. Robindro and Independent MLA Md Ashabuddin have withdrawn their support to BJP-led Biren Singh government. They have declared to support Congress.

The Congress has at present 27 MLAs with the support of six MLAs. The House has 56 MLAs now excluding the three BJP MLAs who have resigned from the Assembly and T. Shyamkumar who has resigned from the Assembly.

Also Read:  Lockdown extended in Delhi for another week

Congress emerged as the single largest party after the 2017  Assembly elections with 28 MLAs. BJP with only 21 MLAs was invited to form the government, CLP leader and firner chief minister O. Ibobi said. In the past three years the Congress has been working under its principles, he added.

Ibobi said the party will approach the governor and the Speaker to convene a special session of the Assembly and a no confidence motion would be moved against the BJP -led government.

Also Read:  IJU hails SC verdict on Vinod Dua’s case

The seven MLAs, who won on Congress tickets, against whom disqualification proceedings have been initiated for allegedly supporting the BJP-led government are technically still with the Congress, he added.

Nine MLAs including three from BJP have changed sides and extended support to the Congress is the proof that the principles and objectives of the party are still relevant, Ibobi said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!