Two former MLAs join JD(U)


Imphal: Former MLAs Elangbam Dwijamani Singh of Hiyanglam Assembly Constituency and Md Abdul Nasir of Lilong Assembly Constituency have joined Janata Dal (United) on Saturday.

Sitting MLA Kh. Joykisan and former MLA Ashab Uddin had recently joined the party.

Dwijamani was elected on INC ticket in 2007 state Assemblyelection. In the 2017 Assembly election he was defeated by BJP candidate, Radheshyam Yumnam.

Abdul Nasir was elected on INC ticket in 2012 state Legislative Assembly election and again he was re-elected in 2017 election under the same party ticket. However, he tendered his resignation from the Congress party in 2020.

Also Read:  Women should have greater involvement in fight against HIV/AIDS: Ganesan

In the by-poll of Lilong Assembly Constituency conducted in 2020, independent candidate Y. Antas Khan won the election. He joined BJP on November 23 last year.

JD(U) on January 24 announced that the first phase of list of candidates for the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election will be announced on January 27 evening which was not declared on this day.

On the delay of announcement of candidates list, the secretary general of JD(U) M. Dorendro Singh said with the coming of new intending candidates to the party the process of scrutiny is still undergoing.

Also Read:  One arrested with Brown Sugar

He said candidates list for the party will be announced shortly.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!