BJP lovers torch party flags over ‘betrayal’


Imphal: Defying the announcement of BJP candidates list for the upcoming 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election, workers of BJP intending candidates of various constituencies who failed to get BJP ticket set ablaze BJP flags, banners and effigies on Sunday.

BJP on this day announced list of candidates of all the 60 Assembly constituencies of Manipur.

Among others, supporters of Sagolband Assembly Constituency intending candidate Khwairakpam Loken torched down BJP flag and its banners at Sagolband Takhellambam Leikai, Imphal West.

After the moment BJP has announced its candidate list at New Delhi, workers of intending BJP candidate, Loken tried to come out on Tiddim Road. The workers torched down BJP flag and banners and tried to blocked Tiddim road. Police tried to control the protestors and confrontation took placed between the protestors and police personnel.

Also Read:  Industry minister Nemcha reaches out to Ukhrul entrepreneurs

To control the agitators police hurled tear gas shell towards the agitators but the agitators started blocking the Tiddim road by overpowering the police for a moment. Later the police managed to control the agitators.

Loken told reprtes that he has resigned from BJP party and will soon announced on which political party he will be contesting in the election.

He said the BJP national leaders told earlier that BJP candidates of 2017 election who was defeated in margin line will be supported in the coming election. However, the central leaders failed to fulfil their assurance. After witnessing the supports from the public of Sagolband Assembly Constituency he along with his supporters decided to contest from another political party.

Also Read:  Maibam Lokpa Ching museum stands as peace testimony: Ganesan

He appealed his supporters not to carry any sort of violence for not getting BJP ticket.

BJP intending candidate of Keishamthong Assembly Constituency, Nishikant Sapam who was also not included in the candidate list declared himself that he will be contesting in the coming election as an independent candidate.

In a video posted on social media, Nishikant said however he was not included in BJP candidate list he appealed his workers not to carried any sort of violence. He will remain with his promise and will be contesting as an independent candidate.

Also Read:  Manipur has 4 Covid-19 active cases

Wangkhei Assembly Constituency BJP ticket was given to former Congress MLA Okram Henry Singh instead of sitting BJP MLA Yumkham Erabot Singh.

Among others veteran politician Nimaichand Luwang also tendered resignation from the party. He said he will contest and defeat the sitting Congress MLA K. Meghachandra of Wangkhem Assembly Constituency.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!