Over 3,000 BJP workers resign


Imphal: Over 3000 BJP workers of Keishamthong Assembly Constituency of Imphal has resigned from BJP on Tuesday and declared to support the independent candidate Nishikant Sapam, who could not get BJP ticket, in the upcoming state Legislative Assembly election.

Nishikant Sapam was an aspiring BJP candidate of Keishamthong Assembly Constituency. He was rejected while announcing the BJP candidate list.

Councillor of Keishamthong ward number 11 and 13, Maisnam Joychandra Singh and Oinam Romeo Singh respectively told that they have resigned from the primary membership of BJP and support NIshikant for the coming election.

Also Read:  Hengbung Hybrid Solar project to be completed soon

Romio said he was elected as councillor of Keishamthong Ward number 13 as a BJP candidate. However, after the betrayal of Nishikant Sapam by excluding in the BJP candidate list, he resigned from the party.

Nishikant said he decided to contest as an independent candidate with the support of ‘Team Nishikant’ as he rejected as BJP candidate.

He said there are more than 3,500 members in ‘Team Nishikant’ and all the members have unanimously decided to resigned from the primary membership of the party.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!