5 more file nomination


Imphal: Five more candidates from different political parties filed their nominations from different Assembly Constituencies on Saturday, taking the total number of candidates, who have filed nominations in the state to 14.

Nine others, including Manipur Assembly Speaker Yumnam Khemchand Singh, deputy Speaker Kongkham Robindro Singh, ex-minister Karam Shyam, JD(U) candidate for Thangmeiband AC Khumukcham Joykisan Singh among others, have already filed their nominations.

On Sunday Indian National Congress candidate and former Manipur Assembly Speaker and inister Irengbam Hemochandra Singh filed his nomination papers from 13-Singjamei Assembly Constituency. The former Speaker filed three nominations supported by one proposer each at the office of the Returning Officer, 13-Singjamei Assembly Constituency, Pangambam Yaitongba.

Also Read:  Biren calls for neat and clean Manipur

RK Imo Singh, who recently joined the BJP, also filed his nominations from the 11-Sagolband Assembly Constituency. Imo filed two nominations supported by one proposer each at the office of the RO, 11-Sagolband AC Dr Md. Imran Khan.

First timer Sagolshem Kebi Devi of the BJP also filed her nomination papers from 21-Naoriya Pakhanglakpa AC. She filed two nominations with one proposer each at the office of the RO, 21-Naoriya Pakhanglakpa Scindia Laipubam. Sagolshem Kebi is the first female candidate who has filed nomination in the district.

Also Read:  India pick up two more medals as China go on top of medal tally

INC candidate and former assistant director, DDK, Imphal, Likmabam Manibabu Singh also filed his nominations from 17-Lamsang AC. He filed three nominations with one proposer each at the office of the Returning Officer, 17-Lamsang AC, Salam Padmapati.

Independent candidate Khwairakpam Robin Singh also filed his nomination paper, supported by 10 proposers, from 16-Sekmai (SC) AC at the office of the RO, Ms Salam Padmapati.

With only three days left for filing of nomination papers for the first-phase of polling, no candidate has filed their nomination papers from three Assembly Constituencies of Imphal West district –10-Uripok Assembly Constituency, 19-Patsoi Assembly Constituency and 12-Keishamthong Assembly Constituency.

Also Read:  Demarcation for road expansion from Sanjenthong to Minuthong bridge conducted

Nomination papers will be received till February 8 and scrutiny of nomination papers will be taken up on February 9, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 11.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!