Deputy Speaker Robindro, Joykisan, Jotin file nomination


Imphal: Deputy Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly and Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Kongkham Robindro Singh filed his nomination papers on Friday from 23-Mayang-Imphal Assembly Constituency for the first-phase of the Manipur Assembly Elections, 2022.

Robindro’s nomination paper, supported by a proposer, was filed at the office of the Returning Officer (RO) 23-Mayang Imphal AC, H. Sukumar Singh.

Two rival candidates from Thangmeiband AC, Kh. Joykisan Singh and Jotin Waikhom also filed their nominations on the fourth day of filing of nominations in respect of the first phase of polling.

Also Read:  Manipur Police remove noisy bike silencers, remove tinted films and logos from vehicles

Khumukcham Joykisan Singh, who recently joined the Janata Dal (U), filed his nomination, supported by 10 proposers, at the office of the RO, 9-Thangmeiband AC, Dr Imran Khan; while BJP candidate Jotin Waikhom filed his two nomination papers supported by two proposers each.

Ex-minister Karam Shyam, who had filed his nomination from 20-Langthabal Assembly Constituency,on Thursday, filed his nomination again on Friday.

Altogether nine candidates have filed their nomination till Friday, the fourth day of nomination, which included four candidates of the Bharatiya Janata Party, three of the National People Party, and two candidates from the Janata Dal (United).

Also Read:  41 noisy motor bike silencers replaced

Nomination papers will be received till February 8 and scrutiny of nomination papers will be taken up on February 9, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 11.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!