Scrutiny of 10 AC of Thoubal, Kakching held, 47 valid


Imphal: Altogether 47 candidates from different political parties and independent candidates who filed their nomination for 10 Assembly constituencies of Thoubal and Kakching districts were found valid.

The scrutiny process of the candidates were done by the respective ROs.

In 10 Assembly constituencies of Thoubal and Kakching,

32- Wangkhem has the highest number of candidates. In this Constituency eight candidates from different political parties are contesting. Wangjing Tentha and Sugnoo ACs have lowest number of candidates . In these two constituencies three candidates are contesting. Lilong, Wabagai and Hiyanglam constituencies  have five candidates each contesting the election. Thoubal, Heirok and Khangabok constituencies have four candidates each. While six candidates are contesting for Kakching AC.

Also Read:  Integrity of the State will not be affected: Union Home Minister

Prominent leaders who are in the fray for the 10  Assembly constituencies of the two districts include former chief minister and CLP leader  O. Ibobi Singh of INC, from Thoubal AC.

Sitting MLA’s K.Meghachandra, O.Surjakumar and Md.Fajur Rahim are contesting as INC candidate.

Former education minister Th.Radheshyam, MLA  Y. Antas, P. Brojen are contesting as BJP candidates.

The last date of withdrawal of nomination is February 16.

In the upcoming Assembly Election, altogether 71 polling stations including 31- Thoubal AC will be manned by all women polling personnel in the two districts.

Also Read:  What hidden agenda makes central government fail to withdraw SoO, asks Bijoy

The election for the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly will be held in two phases on February 28 and March 5 to elect the 60-member state Assembly. The results will be declared on March 10.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!