Manipur goes to re-poll at 12 polling stations on March 5


Imphal: The Election Commission of India has, under sub-section (2) of Section 58 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, declared that the poll taken on February 28 at 12 polling stations to be void and scheduled March 5 for fresh poll.

Polling in 12 constituencies will be held onthe same day for the second phase of the Manipur Legislative Assembly election.

The 12 polling stations going for re-poll are 1/20-Sarouthel (1-Khundrakpam AC), Imphal East; 51/46- New Keithelmanbi (51-Saitu(ST) AC), Kangpokpi; from Churachandpur District – 56/5-Songsang, 56/10-Maite and 56/19-Tinsuong (56-Thanlon (ST) AC); 57/20- Majuron Kuki, 57/31-N.Chingphei, 57/34- Khoirentak, 57/39- Molsang and 57/49- Leinom (57-Henglep (ST) AC); 60/36- Teikot and 60/43- Maukot (60-Singhat (ST) AC).

Also Read:  Mirabai Chanu wins silver in 2022 World Weightlifting Championships

The proposal for re-poll in these polling stations was recommended based on the facts and information received/reported from respective returning officers. One of the main reason for consideration of re-polling was connected to damage of EVMs by miscreants during and after the poll, joint chief electoral office, Manipur Ramananda Nongmeikapam said.

These kind of incidents lead to major discomfort to the electors of the polling station as their right to franchise gets infringed on the poll day and they will now need to come out again to exercise their rightful franchise on the day of re-poll, he added.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!