Rajen sworn-in as Member Elect


Imphal: Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh was sworn in as Member Elect of Manipur Legislative Assembly on Sunday. Manipur governor La Ganesan administered him the oath of office.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Darbar Hall of Raj Bhavan in Imphal. Caretaker chief minister N. Biren Singh, Th. Biswajit Singh, Y. Khemchand Singh, Govindas Konthoujam,  L. Sushindro Singh, chief secretary, DGP and top officials attended among others in the ceremony.

After the ceremony, talking to media persons, S. Rajen Singh said, as a senior member he has been appointed as the person before whom newly elected Members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly shall make and subscribe an oath of affirmation until a Speaker of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly is elected. When asked about a new government formation in the state, he said, BJP is a well disciplined Party and all elected Members will abide by the decision taken by the Party’s High Command. There is no in-fight for  chief ministerial post, he added.

Also Read:  'NMC gives positive node for Churachandpur medical college'

Bishwajit told reporters that some baseless news reports have been coming in about the formation of new government in the state. He said, there is no in-fight or camp among the elected Members of BJP for the time being. All members will adhere to the decision taken by the party’s Parliamentary Board and within a few days we will come to know that who will lead the new government in the state, he added.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!