Chingkheihunba Polo Club lifts winner trophy


Imphal: The 1st State Women’s Polo Tournament, 2022 organised by Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association (MHRPA) came to an end with a striking final match between Chingkheihunba Polo Club, Kongpal and Linthoinganbi Polo Club, Lamphelpat on Thursday at Manipuri Pony Breeding Farm, Lamphelpat.

Chingkheihunba Polo Club lifts the Winner’s Trophy along with a cash prize of Rs 15000 and citation in a glorious win of 4 goals against Linthoinganbi Polo Club sliding by a margin of 2 goals taking home the Runner-up Trophy, cash prize of Rs. 10000 and citation. Laman Polo Club and Samadon Ayangba was given consolation prize of Rs. 5000 each.

The first goal of the final match was scored by Kh. Habe Devi (J-3) of Linthoinganbi Polo Club in the First Chukker at 7:06 against Chingkheihunba Polo Club. Another goal by Kh Deventy (J-1: Time-2:03) of the same team made a hard time for the opponent team in the Second Chukker making their tally 2 goals.

Also Read:  Religious leaders must act as peacemakers: Ratan Thiyam

Chingkheihunba Polo Club made a signature goal at 6:36 by J-1, Neelu RK in the Second Chukker. The Third Chukker was for the Chingkheihunba Polo Club with two goals, making their tally to 3 goals by J-3, Th. Tanna Devi at 6:30 and J-1, Neelu RK at 7:11. Another score for Chingkheihunba Polo Club in the Fourth Chukker at 6:55 by J-5, I. Sangeeta Devi made their winning score making them win 4-2 against Linthoinganbi Polo Club.

Also Read:  Governor meets Security Advisor

Dr. Ng. Ibotombi Singh, director, veterinary and animal husbandry services, Manipur said it is a privilege for him to be a part of the function. We need to support the polo players of our state and promote them to the International Level. Polo Players from different countries wish to take part in the International Polo Tournament conducted every year during the Sangai Festival which was unable to be conducted due to the pandemic in the last two years, he added.

He also donated for the cause of Polo during the function and also wishes all the players a bright future.

H. Deleep Singh, retired IAS, honorary president, MHRPA said this is just the beginning of a new dawn in the field of polo. This beginning will continue in future and many more teams will be gearing up for the next events of this State Women’s Polo Tournament, he added.

Also Read:  Ex-MLAs, AAP, advocates & peace committee called on Governor

Dr. L. Ibetombi Devi, PhD in Study of the Socio-Economic and Educational Status of Polo and Thang-Ta Players of Manipur briefed about her encounter with various polo players and their status in current scenario of Manipur. He also lauded the endurance of the Manipuri Pony as overwhelming and time tested.

The Prizes for 1st State Women’s Polo Tournament, 2022 was sponsored by Ningthoukhongjam Chittamohini Devi.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!