Biren sworn in as Manipur chief minister


Imphal: Consequent upon the election of the Leader of BJP Legislative Party on March 20, the Leader staked claim to form new government of Manipur, the governor of Manipur, Monday afternoon, administered the oaths of office and secrecy to Nongthombam Biren Singh, leader of the BJP Legislative Party, Manipur as Chief Minister.

On the recommendation of the chief minister designate, the governor also sworn-in five MLAs as ministers on the same day.

Also Read:  Manipur Covid-19 active cases fall to 297

They were Thongam Biswajit Singh, Yumnam Khemchand Singh, Konthoujam Govindas Singh, Nemcha Kipgen and Awangbow Newmai.

Three political parties –Janata Dal-United (6 members), Naga People’s Front (5 members) Kuki People’s Alliance (2 members) and two Independents extended their unconditional support to BJP.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!