Disturbed Area withdrawn from areas under 9 police stations in Manipur


Imphal:Manipur chief minister N. Biren Singh announced the withdrawal of “Disturbed Area” status from areas under the jurisdiction nine police stations of the state with effect from Friday for a period of six months.

Biren made the announcement to reporters during a press conference held at his secretariat on Thursday.

The police stations from which “Disturbed Area” status had been withdrawn under Section-3 of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act, 1958 were Sekmai, Lamsang, Patsoi, Lamlai, Irilbung, Bishnupur, Thoubal, Kakching and Jiribam.

As of now, the Disturbed Area had been withdrawn from 15 police stations including six police stations withdrawn earlier i.e. Imphal, Lamphel, City, Singjamei, Porompat and Heingang.

Also Read:  Manipur High Court’s acceptance of Writ Petition against Ponzi Swindler brings relief to thousands

The chief minister stated withdrawal of Disturbed Area had been a long standing demand for the people of the state. The state government had been informing the central leader about the necessity of lifting the Armed Forces Special Powers Act, 1958 from the state, he added.

The state government, under the guidance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and support of Union home minister Amit Shah, had been working tirelessly to improve the law and order situation in the state. With the financial assistance of the central government, the state had been able to persuade many underground organisations/insurgent groups to surrender and join the mainstream, Biren said.

Also Read:  Manipur CM warns to terminate government official involving in illegal drug trafficking

Withdrawal of Disturbed Area status had shown that the law and order situation of the state has considerably improved. He appealed to the public to support the government’s efforts for improving the law and order further across the state so that the Disturbed Area status could be lifted from remaining areas of the state, he added.

He expressed his gratitude to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah, Union defense minister Rajnath Singh and other central leaders for lifting the Disturbed Area status.

Also Read:  12th Hockey India Sub Junior Women National Championship 2022 kicks off

He also showed his gratitude to the people of Manipur, civil society organisations, students and specially individuals like Irom Sharmila who were at the forefront demanding withdrawal of Armed Forces Special Powers Act from the state.

Along with Manipur, the Government of India has reduced disturbed areas under Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) in Nagaland, Assam.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!