JNIMS successfully conducts Kidney Transplant, Biren announces Rs 5 lakh reward to medical team


Imphal: Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Medical Sciences (JNIMS), a government hospital, has successfully conducted three kidney transplant operations, for which, chief minister N. Biren Singh announced a reward of Rs 5 lakh to the team of doctors, nurses and other technical staff of the medical Institute who were involved in the kidney transplant.

He made the announcement at JNIMS on Sunday.

Three operations for kidney transplant were successfully conducted for three patients—Takhellambam Bikramjit Singh, 37,  from Wangoo Tera, Kakching, Kimsary, 41, from Tuisonjang village, Churachandpur and Hanso Wungleng, 32, from Winitang, Ukhrul.

Also Read:  Water scarcity relates with climate change: Ranjan

Biren congratulated the doctors, nurses and others. He termed the first successful conduct of kidney transplant at a government hospital as a huge achievement.

Many people of the state faces financial hardship for kidney transplant and as such the state government had taken up certain efforts under mission mode to upgrade the infrastructure and service of JNIMS. Fortunately, operations for kidney transplant had been successfully conducted for three persons, he added.

He expressed his satisfaction that the kidney transplant for the three persons were conducted availing the benefit of Ayushman Bharat- Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana (PMJAY) package for Kidney Transplant.

Also Read:  Manipur Police remove noisy bike silencers, remove tinted films and logos from vehicles

The patients did not bear any expenses of the operation charges and medicine required, he said and expressed his thankfulness to Prime Minister Narendra Modi for saving the lives of many people through the scheme.

Bikramjit, who was given discharge certificate on this day, thanked the Biren and Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the health care benefits offered, and the medical team.

Biren appeals to the public to avail the benefits of certain welfare schemes of the government and sought support from the people towards the government efforts for further development of the state.

Also Read:  Disturbed Area status withdrawn from 4 Manipur areas

Chief secretary Dr Rajesh Kumar, Health Services director Dr K. Rajo, JNIMS director Laishram Deben were also present during the reward announcement.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!