All Manipur MLAs cast votes to elect India President


Imphal: All the 60 MLAs of Manipur casted their votes at the 16th Presidential Election in respect of Manipur that was held on Monday at the committee room of Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Casting of vote started from 10 am. Ballot boxes containing polled ballot papers, and other election materials will be carried back to Returning Officer’s Office, New Delhi, on July 19 and counting of votes will be taken up on July 21.

Also Read:  Woman nabbed with 2.5 kg Opium in Manipur

A total of 4,809 electors comprising MPs and MLAs cast their votes to elect the next President. The incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind’s tenure will be ending on July 24 following which the new President will be sworn in on July 25.

Ruling NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu and Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha are contesting for the Presidential Election, 2022. The value of vote of a Member of Parliament has gone down to 700 from 708 in this presidential pool due to the absence of Legislative Assembly in Jammu and Kashmir.

Also Read:  CM stresses importance of mass awareness campaign on judicious use of water

​The value of an MLA of Manipur has been to 18 votes. According to Article 52(2) of Indian Constitution, the value of an MLA is defined by dividing the total population of the state by the total number of Assembly seats and then dividing the value by 1000 again.

The vote value of the MLAs will be defined as per the population registered in the census of 1971, a DIPR press release said.

Also Read:  Disturbed Area status withdrawn from 4 Manipur areas

​With value of each MLA defined at 18 votes, the total vote value of Manipur is 1080 after multiplying the value of an MLA and the total number of MLAs, it added.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!