All should join hands for a positive change in education sector: Minister Govindas


Imphal, September 5, 2022 (DIPR): The State Level Teachers’ Day celebration was held today at City Convention Centre, Palace Compound, Imphal with Minister of Sports & Youth Affairs and PWD, Govindas Konthoujam and Education Minister,   Th. Basantakumar Singh as Chief Guest and President respectively. The function was organized by Education Department, Government of Manipur.

Heikham Dingo Singh, Minister Social Welfare/SLEE/Fishery, Manipur; Prof. N. Lokendra Singh, Vice Chancellor, Manipur University;   M. Asnikumar, Chairman, LDA;   H. Gyan Prakash, IAS, Commissioner Education; Dr. Rangitabali Waikhom, IAS, Director, Education (U);   L. Nandakumar Singh, IAS, Director, Education (S) were on the dais as Guest of Honors.

​Minister Govindas Konthoujam stressed on the importance of Guru-Shishya Parampara that embodies a strong bond between the Guru and the Shishya enables the Guru to become a mentor who leads the Shishya from ignorance to wisdom, and enlightenment. Now-a-days the relationship between teachers and students has lessened with the change in time, he added. Minister further said that to become a perfect human being, we should inculcate the knowledge of respecting our teachers.

​Stating that the Government has been working hard to improve the education sector in the state, Minister said that all should join hands for a positive change to fulfill the vision of the government. He also added that all stakeholders should come together with firm determination and dedication to make the government schools stronger. Congratulating the awardees and all the teachers on the occasion of Teachers’ Day, Minister appealed the teachers to educate the students in all aspects instead of making them just a literate.

Also Read:  Selected candidates appreciate minister Khemchand

​Minister Basantakumar Singh said that teachers are the most respected persons in the society. They are the ones that make their students realized their dreams. Stating that 20 percent of the state population are the students but 100 per cent of the students make our future, Minister appealed the teachers to educate the students with extracurricular activities. He said that teachers should think that they become teachers by choice while imparting knowledge to the students. Minister further added that the hard-work, dedication and sincerity of the teachers should not be undermined in any circumstances.

​Minister further added that the government is trying hard to improve the education sector even though there are many challenges. He added that the government is trying to rationalize the posting of teachers acknowledging their residential accommodation. He said teachers need to be posted at their residential areas to enable them to understand the situation of the respective areas and also have the advantage of staying close with their families. Minister appealed to all the teachers to work with dedication and sincerity while imparting knowledge to the students. The world has become a global village and we need to work together to be a part of the global village, Minister added.

Also Read:  Manipur misses Police Medal for Gallantry

At the National Level function organized by the Department of School Education and Literacy, Ministry of Education,   Nongmaithem Gautam Singh, Primary Teacher, Eastern Ideal High School, Imphal East has been conferred the National Award for the year 2022. It is worth mentioning that the National Awards to Teachers 2022 seek to celebrate the unique and major contributions of the teachers in the nation-building of India. The award is being conferred to honor those teachers who through their commitment and industry have not only improved the quality of school education but have also enriched the lives of their students.

At the State Level function, State Teacher’s Award were handed over to Ch. Indira Devi, Lecturer, Johnstone Higher Secondary School; Seikholen Singsit, Science Graduate Teacher, Keithelmanbi Govt. High School; Y. Prem Singh, Arts Graduate Teacher,Ngaikhong High School; Kharga Prasad Prasain, Hindi Graduate Teacher, Bishnulal High School; O. Arunkumari Devi, Lecturer, Lilong Higher Secondary School; Kh. Nirojlata Devi, Lecturer, Ibotonsana Higher Secondary School and R.K. Ranjita, Head Mistress in-charge, Wangkhei High School.

State Level College Teachers’ Award 2021-22 under different categories were also presented at the observation ceremony. The Best Principal Award carrying a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 and a certificate was handed over to Dr. M. Priyokumar Singh, Principal, Imphal College. The Lifetime achievement Award for Faculty Member carrying a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 and a Certificate was given to Prof. H. Manoranjan Sharma. Principal in-charge, Waikhom Mani Girls’ College.

Also Read:  Kangpokpi Forest Division all out to fight deforestation menace

The Best IQAC Team Award was bagged by Churachandpur College carrying a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 and a Certificate. The Best Faculty Member Award which carries a cash prize of Rs. 30,000 and a Certificate was given to Dr. M. Suresh Singh, Associate Professor, GP Women’s College and STEM Award for lady Faculty Member with a cash prize of Rs. 30,000 and a Certificate was handed to Ch. Umabati Devi, Assistant Professor, GP Women’s College, Imphal.

Appreciation Awards from Education (U) were given to Manipur University, Canchipur; Kumbi College, Moirang and   Haorokcham Anil, Managing Director, Synapx. Special Awards were distributed to 48 government schools with 100 percent pass percentage in High School Leaving Certificate Examination (HSLCE) 2022 and tablets to 17 primary teachers from 17 zones for classroom teaching. The number of tablets to be distributed is 10,728 and will be distributed to the concerned teachers at the earliest.

State Teacher Awardees, teachers from various government schools, officials and staffs of Education Department and students attended the function.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!