Manipur joins nation celebrate R-Day


Imphal: Manipur celebrated the Country’s 74th Republic Day with mass participation from across the state joining the nation-wide celebration.

The celebration was held at Kangla with governor of Manipur La Ganesan unfurling the National flag and taking salute from different march-past contingents.

Chief minister N. Biren Singh, Cabinet ministers, Lokayukta of Manipur, MPs, MLAs, chief secretary, DG of Police and senior civil and police officials also took part in the celebration.

The celebration began with the governor inspecting the Guard of Honour accorded by a contingent of 6th Battalion Manipur Rifles (MR) commanded by additional superintendent of police T. Bishwajit Singh.

The governor unfurled the Tricolour amidst playing of the National Anthem by 1st Battalion Manipur Rifles Band and then took salute from 76 march-past contingents including different band contingents, commanded by commandant of 2nd Battalion Manipur Rifles, Victoria Yengkhom.

Twenty different cultural troupes and tableaux of 14 different departments also took part in marching contingents following the march-past.

Biren said the Centre has included two personalities from the state, Thounaojam Chaoba Singh (public affairs) and K. Shanathoiba Sharma (sports) from the state for Padmashri which are awarded to personalities for their distinguished service in any fields.

Also Read:  Disturbed Area status withdrawn from 4 Manipur areas

He recounted his memories of participating in the Republic Day march past parade during his college days. It is under the Indian Constitution that the citizens of the country enjoy their rights and responsibilities, he said.

Further stating that India has assumed the presidency of the G-20 and that Manipur will also be hosting meetings as part of the presidency as in other parts of the country, the chief minister has urged for support from the people for the successful hosting of the meetings.

Today, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, India has become a leading nation in various fields including defence production, economy, automobile, he said.

Meanwhile, during the celebration at Kangla, officers and personnel of Manipur Police, Manipur Central Jail and Manipur Fire Service Department were decorated by the governor with the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service, Police Medal for Gallantry on the occasion of Independence Day, 2021, Police Medal for Meritorious Service on the occasion of Independence Day, 2021, Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Police Training, 2020-2021, President Correctional Service Medal for Distinguished Service, President Correctional Service Medals for Meritorious Service and Fire Service Medal for Meritorious Service.

Also Read:  Water scarcity relates with climate change: Ranjan

Director General of Police (Prison) and Managing Director (Manipur Police Housing Corporation Limited) Christopher Doungel received the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service. Inspector, CDO/Imphal West Gunachandra Chanam and Head Constable (HC), 8th Indian Reserve Battalion (IRB) Hijam Eshworchandra Singh were decorated with the Police Medal for Gallantry.

Police Medal for Meritorious Service was accorded to Superintendent of Police (SP), Vigilance anr Anti-Corruption S. Gautam Singh, deputy superintendent of police/CID (SB) Th. Gojen Singh, inspector (Vigilance and Anti-Corruption) Konthoujam Bobby, Subedar, 1st MR Akoijam Bhogendro Singh, Subedar, 1st IRB Sanasam Raju Singh, Jemadar (MPTC) Shri Konjengbam Priyojit Singh, HC/CID (SB) M. Parpa Chothe and assistant sub-inspector, Imphal West Sarangthem Joychandra Meetei.

Also Read:  Sift Kaur Samra wins her first individual world cup medal amidst a near Chinese sweep

Subedar (MPTC) Maibam Babu Meitei, Subedar (MPTC)  Potsangbam Robert Singh, Jemadar Lukram Lenin Meetei and Rifleman (MPTC)  Kongbrailatpam Premsunder Shrama received the Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Police Training.

Retired deputy superintendent N. Hemantakumar Singh was accorded with President Correctional Service Medal for Distinguished Service, while chief head warder W. Didymus Tangkhul, head warder Jilkhokai Touthang, warder Khupzalam Neishil, warder L. Robindro Singh and retired chief head warder Thamsel Lamkang were accorded with President Correctional Service Medals for Meritorious Service.

Fireman M. Romendro Singh and Lanamei Benjamin of Fire Service department received the Fire Service Medal for Meritorious Service.

The chief minister wished the people of the state on the occasion and thanked everyone participating including students, civil police, security forces, ex-servicemen, people from different communities, civil societies, etc. in the successful celebration of the occasion.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!