Disturbed Area status withdrawn from 4 Manipur areas


Imphal: Manipur chief minister N. Biren Singh informed that “Disturbed Area” status under Section 3 of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act, 1958 had been withdrawn from areas under the jurisdiction of 4 (four) more lolice stations of the state including Leimakhong, Nambol, Moirang and Wangoi.

Biren was briefing media personnel at the chief minister’s secretariat on Saturday.

He said with the 15 police stations which had been lifted earlier, disturbed areas status had been withdrawn from a total of 19 police stations falling under seven districts viz Imphal West, Imphal East, Thoubal, Bishnupur, Kangpokpi, Kakching and Jiribam for a period of six months with effect from April 1.

Also Read:  Union Home Minister meets CSO leaders of Churachandpur

The chief minister recalled the hardship faced by the people of the State earlier, due to the Armed Forces Special Powers Act, 1958. Acknowledging such hardship, the central government under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi had started lifting of the disturbed areas from different police stations, he added.

He expressed his gratitude to the Central leaders on behalf of the state government and its people, adding that lifting of disturbed area status from another four4 police stations, not waiting for any protest and demand from people’s side, showed their concern for the Northeastern States particularly Manipur.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content Protected!